New to the community?

KarenB

Hello ! Op booked for Friday- wish me luck 😁

Hi I'm new here so please bear with me .
I'm Karen and I had my colonoscopy on 18 February- the day after my 53rd birthday.
The colonoscopy was carried out by a surgeon who took a biopsy but told me there and then that he was 99% sure it was cancer. He was right. Within a week I'd had MRI and CT scans which showed I was T3 N1 M0 . I am scheduled for surgery on Friday 29th and will have a stoma which will hopefully be reversible.

I'm strangely relieved that the cancer was found and that that at least something is going to be done about it.

I'm just a teensy bit worried about my son age 22 being left to look after my pets( cats and tropical fish), although the dogs are going to stay with my parents whilst I'm in hospital and I'm going there too recover post op too.
This is my first time posting here although I've been stalking the site since my diagnosis. You all are very encouraging and helpful so I just wanted to say hi :x::x:

greyhound gal

Good morning @KarenB! It looks like I’m the lucky one to welcome you first! So welcome to this fantastic forum though it’s a shame you had to join the club to get here. It really is the best place for advice, support or just to get things of your chest!
I know exactly what you mean about the relief! When the consultant told my husband and myself I had Bowel cancer, I think he was surprised by our response. At long last we had an answer to why I’d been so ill for months! Although it wasn’t a big surprise.
Keep posting! I’m sure you’ll have questions about the surgery etc, although if you’ve been following the site you might already know loads!!
Many best wishes
Wendy :x::x:

Bear G

Hi @KarenB
Welcome to the forum. I’m sorry to hear about your diagnosis but very glad you’ve found us, I hope you’ll find this a source of support.