Relatives and friends

lozza

Mum's diagnosis- how do you cope?

Hi guys,

Newbie here to the forums, my mum actually told me about (she told me not to google stuff and the only place I am allowed to look is here!)

Soooooo my mum told me the dreaded news at the beginning of July, she actually put it off for 2 weeks as she knew how emotional I was (completely true). I freaked out at the mention of the C word! It seemed fairly positive, she was to start 5 or so weeks of radiotherapy and then have a scan and hopefully operate.

Throughout that time it didn't really feel real and I supposed I glossed over it. She then had another scan which she got the results back on the 22nd. So she now has liaisons on her liver which weren't there 6 months ago, one of which ix suspicious of metastases ( I still don't know what that is!)

She has 2 options, one is to offer surgery for her rectum but it may well be palliative and then it would have to be followed by liver resection but it does warn that it may take up a significant part of her projected life expectancy. Or, the alternative is to go straight for palliative treatment in the form of chemo but it won't be curative but they will then reassess the situation in time. She has decided to go for the chemo option.

Now, perhaps I was innocently ignoring it all before but this news has come crashing down emotionally on me. The reality of the situation is finally becoming real.

My question is, how do you guys cope?

I am trying to stay strong for my mum, but it is so hard, I can't speak to her without getting teary and emotional and I know it is incredibly hard for her as she obviously is worried about me in the long run.

Work has been amazing, but it is the constant random upsetness that gets me, people ask how you are and you just break! Or you have a nice evening out with friends and then go home and cry yourself to sleep... How do you keep strong for your loved one?

Hugs for everyone :x::x::x:

Daffodil