Relatives and friends

cat64

Hello

Newbie here. . .my husband had his colonoscopy the Friday before Christmas and it showed what the surgeon called "an obvious tumour," on his sigmoid colon. He's now completed the tests and seen the colorectal surgeon who has confirmed a C1 - big so-and-so, but contained in the local area and not metastasized. Mike will need 5 and a half weeks of chemoradiation, followed by ten weeks to get over it, followed by surgery and what we hope will be a temporary stoma. What is more than unsettling is how fast these things can develop while causing only nebulous symptoms. Mike has always been rather windy so a bit more didn't seem ominous. It wasn't until an altered bowel habit and bleeding kicked in that he started to worry and by then, the tumour was already plotting world domination! From what the surgeon said today, he's caught it just in time.

Bear G

Hi @cat64
Welcome to the forum, I hope you find this a friendly place that helps support you and your husband.
I'm sorry to hear of his diagnosis but it's good news that it's been caught so early as it means there's a very high chance of cure (around 95%).
You're right about it being a bit of a sinister disease. When I was diagnosed I was super fit, a competitive middle distance runner an yogi and trained in MMA, my only symptom was a change in toilet heabits and I was diagnosed with stage 4, it's a sneaky flipping cancer!
It sounds like your hubby has a good team looking after him.
Big hugs
Bear
:x::x:

cat64

Hello Bear, thanks for the warm welcome. Your diagnosis must have been a horrendous shock, but you seem to be doing well and staying healthy and it's encouraging to know that even at advanced stages, you have to learn to live with bowel cancer, often for years. It's already becoming a chronic disease that some people will die with, while being carried off by something else. That implies opportunities and problems in itself, but at least the future is still out there.

Baxter2