New to the community?

claire blenk

bowel prep picolax

Hi all my dad passed away of bowel cancer in november...so i rang my doctor as we have alot of family history..i saw a not very nice to say the least consultant and one day later in the post i have a colonoscopy for monday 18th! that quick which is concerning...iv got to take picolax and i have an unusual phobia of vomiting...im so nervous of taking it...could any of you help with some tips to cope please :x:

bettebette

Hello @claire blenk I am sorry to hear about your dad please accept my condolences.

I have had no experience of vomiting with any of the preparations for colonoscopy or similar, in my experience the preparation causes the bowel to empty downwards, I hope that this reassures you.

Very best wishes for the 18th. :x:

cyclingjohnny

hi claire, sorry about your father passing away,you have done the right thing by getting checked out, i think the prep that they use to purge your system goes under a lot of different names, when i went for mine it was called moviprep, have to admit it's not the greatest tasting drink i have ever had, i think you can mix certain fruit squashes with it, but not blackcurrant if i remember rightly, some people say that drinking it through a straw helps,i am sure the wonderful people on this site will soon come up with plenty of tips, best of luck on monday hope all goes well. john xx.

claire blenk

thankyou for your replies...think i need the sedation for the prep aha...im just going to have to be brave but i feel sick just thinking about it! :x:

bettebette