New to the community?

Crick26

Hi Newbie here

Hello everyone
Thought I'd join and tell you my story.
It all started back in April after a day out with my daughter. My tummy was bloated and uncomfortable and I put it down to IBS which I sometimes got if I ate the wrong thing. went to bed early with a pain in my left side and a temp. it was uncomfortable during the night and the pain was so bad it took me 2 hours to get up. I called hubby who was at work in London to come home and I called 111. they sent a paramedic to me who said I should go to a&e.
Hubby home so he took me. GP at hosp didn't like how tender my side was so referred me to the surgical assessment unit. Doc saw me and kept me in.
I stayed in for 2 days on antibiotics had a CT scan and went home with a follow up for colonoscopy. They said it could be diverticulitis or colitis. Pain went after another week and I was told to stay on a low fat low fibre diet, which I did.
Fast forward to 19 June when I had colonoscopy. doc asked to see me and my hubby after and told us it was a tumour he'd found and chances were it was cancer.
The following week I had another CT scan (on my 50th birthday!) Then back to hospital the week after where consultant confirmed it was definitely cancer (although I think we knew anyway). There was then a PET CT scan, another CT scan and I had surgery on 25 July to remove the left side of my bowel.
Those 6 weeks were all a bit of a blur and the hardest bit was telling my children and friends and family.
So here I am now 11 days post surgery and not sure what is going to happen next?!!???
That's my story

Lizalou

Hi @Crick26
I bet you feel a bit shell-shocked after such an eventful few weeks, but it's great that things were sorted out relatively soon. There's nothing like a significant medical event happening on a significant anniversary. ...my operation was on my 25th wedding anniversary!