Just diagnosed

Susie W

Dilemma

I am new to this Forum. Had a rectal polyp removed which had cancer in it. It came out cleanly and scans showed no sign of spread. However there was evidence of lymphatic invasion. Surgeon calculated risk of lymph node deposits at 20% versus 80% chance I am clear. He advises abdominoperineal resection and permanent colostomy, but says I could opt for active surveillance. What do I do ? Going potty trying to decide. Wouls a second opinion help?

Lirio345

Hello there @Susie W, first of all welcome to the forum; I am sure you will find it helpful and informative.

Having said that I have no experience of APR although I do have a colostomy. However I do think that you are in a slightly difficult position and I think in this case a second opinion would be useful. There is plenty of experience on here about the various centres of excellence if you are happy to indicate roughly where you live.

Hopefully some other folk will be along with some experience of APR. Take very good care and please stay in touch, Kim :x::x:

Baxter2

Hi @Susie W and welcome to the forum!

What a dilemma indeed! I tend to agree in that a second opinion would be really useful in this situation. I don't have experience of either APR surgery or having a stoma so can't really help there.

I hope you manage to come to a decision that feels right for you.

Best wishes

Karen ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’šโค๏ธ

palace1960