Relatives and friends

Tiffany

Do something amazing.....

Hello Relatives and Friends.

I have been reading a few posts on here regarding patients having to have blood transfusions or needing platelets etc and I was hoping I might inspire some people to donate blood before Christmas.

I have just given blood this week - my 56th donation! I have been giving blood for many years and to be honest find it the easiest thing to do. Doesn't take more than one hour and potentially could save a life.

I have posted the link below and know how desperate the blood centres are for new donors especially before Christmas and within these unprecedented times.

So for those who are fit and healthy and want to do something amazing.....please think about going to donate blood.

Thank you x

www.blood.co.uk

acrorat

I was hoping to get to my 50th pint but was told that at I had cancer I was now excluded. It was one of the first things that really upset me after my diagnosis

Nick Rimmer

Same here @acrorat, @Tiffany , I donated 18 pints, then told I could no longer donate after my diagnosis. On a positive note my eldest son, when he hit 17 signed up and has donated twice!

Tiffany

@acrorat
Yes there are many people that are excluded and it's completely understandable that patients with cancer will no longer be able to donate. Sorry that you were upset :x::x:

@Nick Rimmer
Well done to your 17 year old. I've also encouraged my kids to donate and two out of my three have managed to successfully donate which makes me very happy. I really want mine to give back a bit in life and it's the one thing that costs nothing but is such a rewarding thing to do :x::x:

molly2me

@Tiffany thank you for the link, I will ask family and friends now too :x::x:

acrorat

@Tiffany it is a brilliant thing to do and so very necessary. I love that you now get a text to alert you to the fact that your blood has gone to a particular hospital

Baxter2