Moving on from bowel cancer

You can find lots of useful information about life beyond bowel cancer on our website, including our Living well booklet.

tigerduff

Stoma reversal

Hello All

I am a newbie to this forum:)!
Just under a year ago, i had a tumour removed from the lower part of my rectum following early diagnosis. Due to the location of the tumour most of my rectum was rebuilt. I then had an 8x3 week course of chemo that finished in June this year.
I have recently had a face to face meeting with my consultant to discuss reversing my temporary stoma and his comments have left me in a dilemma! He explained very frankly that a reversal was very likely to cause me considerable bowel movement disruption in the short term (3 months) and that it would be very unlikely for my situation to ever get back to normal in the long term.
I have looked on line at various sites for guidance but much of the information is written in such medical technical detail that it is virtually impossible to draw a conclusion.
I am currently living an almost normal life with my stoma but, ideally, i was hoping it could be reversed, not knowing the possible consequences.
So, I would really appreciate it if anyone in their 60's, or maybe younger, who had a low rectum tumour and had the reversal, could advise if the decision provided a positive or negative result. Please also advise how many months it was after the original operation
that you had the reversal.
I am fully aware that each individual and circumstances are different but it would help to hear from people who might have had a similar situation to mine.
Thank you for your time and best wishes and good luck to you all.

Regards
Tigerduff

Mavis