Welcome to our forum

Welcome to the Bowel Cancer UK Community, a place for anyone affected by bowel cancer to talk about their experiences, share their knowledge and support each other. Please read our useful information pages for more information about the forum and Bowel Cancer UK.

nikkinoo

My husband was diagnosed last week

Hi everyone, I’ve never done anything like this before.
My husband had a colonoscopy on 17/12/21 told straight away that he had right sided cancer (Caecum) He had a CT scan on 22/12/21 and was told his case was going to be discussed with the MDT… He suffers terribly with anxiety and you can imagine his anxiety state is through the roof! I want the hospital to call so I know what the next steps are but my husband doesn’t want to know. How long until cases are normally discussed? Thankyou

Tiffany

Hi @nikkinoo. Welcome to the group that nobody wants to join! So sorry that you have found yourself here. My hubby was diagnosed in June 2015 and is "living with" S4 BC.

It is very surreal and scary at the beginning and I had similar conversations with my hubby but you have done the right thing by being strict and talking him round. You will see as you move through the different stages of treatment and so on that things become a bit easier to contend with. Best advice is to make sure you record or write down everything you can in your meetings with his medical team and don't be afraid to ask questions and say if you don't understand something. Knowledge is key.

Also hopefully your hubby can stay as fit and healthy as possible before the operation so lots of good food and exercise every day. Please let us know how he gets on and feel free to join the Caregiver Group where you can have a cry, moan or whatever support you need away from BC patients. Let me know if you need any help navigating this online community or indeed for anything else.

Sending love and a big cyber hug. Tiffany :x:

nikkinoo

Thankyou Tiffany…