Younger people with bowel cancer

You can find lots of useful information for younger people on our website, as well as details of our Never Too Young campaign.

YogiSarah

My husband has been told it's stage 4 and incurable... Help please.

Hello, I'm a newbie here and just looking for some advice on how on earth to cope please. My fit and well husband, aged 38, was diagnosed with stage 4 bowel cancer on Friday. It has spread to his lungs and liver and is inoperable. They have said that he just has to have chemo to buy him time and depending on how he and the cancer react to it, he could have a year left or could still be going in 4 years, but it's impossible to know at the moment and we just have to wait and see. We have three children aged 4, 2 and 7 months. I am heartbroken for all of us and just cannot see how people cope with such news. I know I need to for the sake of him and my kids, but I feel like all we have ahead of us now is pain and waiting for death (I'm trying to live in the moment and be grateful he is here now but my mind cannot stop thinking of the future and what it will mean for us). Any advice at all would be much appreciated please. Thank you for reading.

Lirio345

Hello @YogiSarah, a very warm welcome to the forum although I am so sorry to hear about your husband’s diagnosis. You must both be absolutely devastated and need time to start to process this.

I was diagnosed with stage 4 Bowel Can er over 7 years ago so any projections of life expectancy can be taken with a pinch of salt, - they simply do not know how individuals will respond to treatment.

You will find the coming weeks difficult as you come to terms with the new terminology that will play a big part in your lives., so take your time.

I have added some information below but again take your time, you cannot read and absorb everything at once.