Stage 4 bowel cancer

You can find information about advanced bowel cancer on our website, including our Treating advanced bowel cancer booklet. You can also join our Living with stage 4 bowel cancer Facebook group.

michelle19

Peri nodule

Hi all, I'm a newbie here,so looking for some positive experiences. I was diagnosed last July with stage 4 bowel cancer. I had a bowel resection in Aug, followed by 3 months mop up chemo. The only spread I had, was 1 microscopic peritoneal dot, which was resected with the bowel. Fast forward to June this year, my routine bloods showed that cea had shot up to 99 from 2.3. Had emergency ct scan, MRI, ultrasound and a pet scan showed a lesion in my liver and one peri nodule. My question is has anyone cleared peri mets with chemo as I've been referred to Basingstoke for hipec, but am likely to be refused as its not widespread enough. Thank you in advance. :x:

Leaguefan

@michelle19
Sorry this has happened but I find the stories in this section heartwarming and so positive.
It does seem strange though that being referred you will be be rejected because you are “not ill enough”?
I will however admit ignorance regarding this area and that the treatment may be different to what would seem logical.
Whatever happens, I wish you a very successful outcome.

Regards

Keith AKA Leaguefan.

Liz Blakelands

@michelle19
Hi and welcome to the forum which I hope you find friendly and helpful. I'm really sorry that you have had a re-occurance.

I don't have experience of peri mets and chemo but I'm sure some-one will be along who has. Re the referral to Basingstoke, I'm sure there must be a reasonable chance that they will take you .

Just wanted to welcome you to the forum. Please keep in touch and let us know how you get on.

All the best, Liz :x::x:

Lirio345

Good morning @michelle19, a very warm welcome to the forum from me as well, although I am so sorry to hear what has been going on with the recurrence.